The Fire Marshal’s Office conducts fire investigations of all structure fires in Watauga County and conducts fire inspections under Volume 5 of the N. C. State Building Code in unincorporated areas and schools. Additionally, the FMO provides training through fire prevention programs, staff support for emergency responses, and serves as staff for the Watauga County Fire Commission.

 Fire protection is provided by 15 fire departments in Watauga County. The Fire Marshal’s Office works with all departments in coordinating their North Carolina Response Rating Schedule inspections. These inspections help property owners see better insurance rates depending on your insurance provider as a result of improved fire protection if located within six road miles of a fire station. For more information regarding the NCRRS system, please contact your insurance provider, your local fire department, or our office. 

Watauga County Emergency Services Map