County Board of Elections

The Watauga County Board of Elections will meet Tuesday, April 16, 2024 at 5:00p.m. in the County Courthouse located at 842 West King Street, Boone, NC 28607. This meeting is open to the public. 

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 834 3230 5031
Passcode: 112233

Dial by your location
• +1 305 224 1968 US


APRIL 16, 2024


1.              CALL TO ORDER 

2.              PLEDGE 

3.              APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF APRIL 9, 2024 

4.              DIRECTOR’S UPDATE 


6.              ADJOURNMENT








The statewide second primary will be held on Tuesday, May 14, 2024.


Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. Voters must go to their assigned precinct on Election Day.


Voters will be asked to show photo ID when they vote. All voters will be allowed to vote with or without ID. Voters who lack ID can get one for free from their county board of elections. Find out more at


Early voting will be held at the following locations from Thursday, April 25, 2024, to Saturday, May 11, 2024:

·         County Board of Elections office 842 W KING STREET, BOONE, NC 28607

April 25-26; April 29-May 3; May 6-10: 8 AM – 5PM and May 11: 8 AM -3PM


Absentee ballots will be mailed to voters who have requested them as soon as they are available.  A voter can fill out an absentee ballot request at, or by filling out a request form provided by the board of elections. The request must be received through the website or by the Watauga Board of Elections by 5 p.m. May 7, 2024.


All voters who are registered with the political party of the candidates on the ballot are eligible to vote in the second primary. Additionally, voters who are not affiliated with any party and who either didn’t vote in the first primary or voted the ballot of the party for which the second primary is being held are eligible to participate. For example, if a second primary is held for the Republican nomination for lieutenant governor, then all registered Republicans and unaffiliated voters who did not vote or voted the Republican ballot in the first primary would be eligible.


Questions? Call the Watauga Board of Elections Office at (828)265-8061 or send an email to


                                                                        Michael Behrent, Chairman

                                                                        Watauga County Board of Elections 



 To view the UOCAVA Election Notice MAY 14 2024 Click Here



To view the 2024 2nd Primary Buffer Zone Notice CLICK HERE


Temporary Transfer of Voters Elk & North Fork Precincts
The Watauga County Board of Elections voted unanimously to temporarily transfer voters in the North Fork Precinct to the Meat Camp Precinct for the Second Primary on May 14th. North Fork voters will vote at the Meat Camp Fire Department located at 4797 NC Hwy 194 N.  

The Watauga County Board of Elections voted unanimously to temporarily transfer voters in the Elk Precinct to the Stony Fork Precinct for the Second Primary on May 14th.  Elk Precinct voters will vote at the Deep Gap Fire Department located at 6583 Old 421 S.

All voters will vote at the regular election day voting site for the General Election on November 5, 2024.



Watauga County has new County Commissioner Districts and a new method of election for them. North Carolina Session Law 2023-147 was passed on October 25, 2023. As a result, County Commissioners must live in the district for which they seek office as before, however now voters can only vote for the one Commissioner that represents their district. Previously, all Watauga County voters voted for all Commissioner candidates.

The districts have been realigned to contain roughly the same population in each district. Each candidate is elected to a four-year term. Commissioner Districts 3, 4, and 5 are up for election in 2024. Commissioner District 1 and 2 are up for election in 2026. Candidate filing opens at Noon on December 4th , 2023 and closes at Noon on December 15th.

District 1 is comprised of precincts Boone 1, Boone 2, Boone 3, and part of Brush Fork.

District 2 is comprised of precincts New River 1, New River 3, and part of New River 2.

District 3 is comprised of precincts Beaver Dam, Laurel Creek, Shawneehaw, Watauga, Beech Mountain, and part of Brush Fork.

District 4 is comprised of precincts Bald Mountain, Cove Creek, Meat Camp, North Fork, part of Brushy Fork, and part of New River 2.

District 5 is comprised of precincts Blowing Rock, Blue Ridge, Elk, and Stony Fork.

District Map – Click Here
Map of District 3 - Click here
Map of District 4 - Click here
Map of District 5 - Click here

 The mission of the Watauga County Board of Elections is to provide the highest level of professional standards to ensure accurate, honest, and fair elections through accountability and integrity and to provide all citizens our services in the most efficient, effective, and timely manner.   

Contact Us
Mailing Address:
Watauga County Board of Elections
PO Box 528
Boone, NC 28607
Physical Address:
Watauga County Board of Elections
842 W. King St, Suite 6
Boone, NC 28607
Hours of Operations
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Phone: 828-265-8061
Fax: 828-265-8068
       Board Members 
Michael Behrent - Chair 
Matt Walpole- Secretary 
Leta Councill - Member 
Eric Eller - Member 
Elaine Rothenberg - Member