MONDAY, MAY 7, 2012



The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a budget work session on Monday, May 7, 2012, at 4:00 P.M. in the Commissioners' Conference Room of the Watauga County Administration Building, Boone, North Carolina.


                        PRESENT:      Nathan A. Miller, Chairman

                                                Vince Gable, Vice-Chairman

                                                David Blust, Commissioner

Jim Deal, Commissioner

Tim Futrelle, Commissioner

                                                Deron Geouque, County Manager

                                                Margaret Pierce, Finance Director


[Commissioner Blust arrived at the meeting at 4:30 P.M.]


Also in attendance were Watauga County School Board Members:  Ms. Deborah Miller, Mr. John Welch, and Ms. Delora Hodges along with Dr. Dick Jones, Watauga County Schools Interim Superintendent, Ms. Ly Marze, Board of Education Finance Director; Dr. Scarlett Davis, Associate Superintendent, Dr. Wayne Eberle, Executive Director of Learning Development; Ms. Stephanie Weeks, Director of Human Resources; and Mr. Dennis Ray, Director of Maintenance/Physical Operations.


Chairman Miller called the meeting to order at 4:10 P.M.

Discussion of FY 2013 Proposed Budget

            The School Board reviewed their request and thanked the Board for contributions and support for the upcoming fiscal year 2013.

            County Manager Geouque and Finance Director Pierce continued their review of the FY 2013 Proposed Budget for Board discussion.


Commissioner Blust, seconded by Vice-Chairman Gable, moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:00 P.M.



Nathan A. Miller, Chairman



Deron Geouque, County Manager