The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a special meeting on Friday, February 24, 2012, and Saturday, February 25, 2012, in order to conduct a retreat to review goals and objectives for the County.  The meetings were held in the Watauga County Board of Commissioners’ Conference Room, Boone, N.C.


PRESENT:         Nathan Miller, Chairman

Vince Gable, Vice-Chairman

Jim Deal, Commissioner

Tim Futrelle, Commissioner

David Blust, Commissioner

Deron Geouque, Deputy County Manager

Margaret Pierce, Finance Director


Vice-Chairman Gable called the meeting to order on Friday, February 24, 2012, at 12:25 P.M., welcoming those in attendance.


[Chairman Miller arrived at the meeting at 12:25 P.M. due to a prior commitment.]


The following topics were discussed:


FY 2012 Review and Discussion of 2013 Budget

Ms. Margaret Pierce

A. Revenues

B.   Expenditures

C.   Fund Balance

D.  Debt Service Report

E.   Budget Calendar


Review of Current Capital Improvement Plan (CIP)

Mr. Deron Geouque & Mr. Robert Marsh

A.  Current CIP Status Report

B.   Pool Status Report

C.   Future Projects for Consideration

D.  Aho Container Site

E.   Daymark Lease


Tax Matters

Mr. Kelvin Byrd

A.  Tax Reval Report

B.   Business and Personal Property Audits


School Board Funding Issues

A.  Schools’ Capital Improvement Plan                                                                          

B.   FY 2013 Funding Needs


EMS Report/Discussion

Mr. Craig Sullivan


Landfill Energy Projects Discussion

Ms. Lisa Doty and Mr. Ged Moody

A.  Report on Recycling and Methane to Electricity Project

B.   Review of Solar Energy Project


[Commissioner Futrelle left the meeting at 3:15 P.M. due to a prior commitment.]


A recess was declared at 4:05 P.M.  The meeting reconvened on Saturday, February 25, 2012, at 9:00 A.M.


Watauga Community Housing Trust Report


Economic Development Commission (EDC) Report/Discussion

Mr. Keith Honeycutt & Mr. Joe Furman


Planning and Inspections Matters

Mr. Joe Furman


Tourism Development Authority (TDA)

Mr. Matt Vincent, Mr. Wright Tilley, & Mr. Eric Woolridge


Consolidated Dispatch

Vice-Chairman Vince Gable


Miscellaneous & Commissioner Matters

Mr. Deron Geouque

A.  A Policy to Provide Preference to Local Vendors in Purchasing of Equipment and Supplies

B.   State Issues

C.   Commissioner Matters


[Commissioner Futrelle left the meeting at 11:00 A.M. due to a prior commitment.]


Wrap Up, Goals & Objectives, Board Directives


The County Manager concluded the retreat by reviewing the issues addressed and seeking direction from the Board for Fiscal Year 2013.


Chairman Miller adjourned the meeting at 12:00 P.M.


VOTE:   Aye-4(Miller, Gable, Blust, Deal)





Nathan A. Miller, Chairman




Deron Geouque, Deputy County Manager