The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a special meeting, in the Commissioners’ Board Room at the Watauga County Administration Building, Boone, NC, on February 22, 2011, to receive information regarding the Town of Boone’s proposed water intake project and the subsequent request for reclassification of a portion of the New River from the NC Division of Water Quality (DWQ).


Those present were: Chairman Nathan Miller, and Commissioners Jim Deal, Tim Futrelle, and Vince Gable. Staff: County Manager Rocky Nelson, Deputy County Manager Deron Geouque, Planning and Inspections Director Joe Furman, and Clerk to the Board Anita Fogle. County Attorney Four Eggers was also present. Vice-Chairman Blust was unable to attend due to a prior appointment.


The following were available for comments: Town of Boone Mayor Loretta Clawson and Council Members Andy Ball, Rennie Brantz and Stephen Phillips; Town Attorney Sam Furgiuele, Town Manager Greg Young, Town Clerk Freida Van Allen, Public Utilities Director Rick Miller, and Utilities Service Technician Josh Eller; David Pond and Brian Tripp with WK Dickson; and Dianne Reid and Elizabeth Kountis with the North Carolina Department of Environment and Natural Resources.


Chairman Miller called the meeting to order at 5:09 P.M.


Mr. Brian Tripp of WK Dickson gave a presentation explaining the surface water reclassification as requested from the Division of Water Quality by the Town of Boone.


Mr. Joe Furman, Planning & Inspections Director, gave a presentation which reviewed the affected areas and explained the effects that the proposed watershed reclassification would have to the properties within Watauga County if the Town’s water intake project was approved. Mr. Furman also stated that amendments would be required to the County’s watershed ordinance if the reclassification was obtained.


Mr. Furman stated that the State looked for support from affected local governments when considering approval of such projects and, if support wasn’t received, it could cause pause in the decision making process.


Boone Town Manager Greg Young requested that a resolution be adopted in support of the Town’s water intake project to be forwarded to the State.


Discussion was held on conducting a public hearing prior to offering support to the Town of Boone, to allow for citizen comment from those who owned property within the proposed affected area. Mr. Furman stated that a public hearing would be required later in the process, prior to a reclassification by the State, as well.


Commissioner Futrelle moved to adopt a resolution in support of the Town’s water intake project which was to include, if approved, a reclassification of a portion of the New River to WS-IV. Commissioner Deal seconded the motion for the purpose of discussion; however, he stated that he could not support a resolution prior to review.


After further discussion regarding a timely offer of support to the Town while still allowing the citizens in the potentially affected area to be heard, Commissioner Futrelle withdrew his motion and Commissioner Deal withdrew his second.


Commissioner Futrelle, moved to send a letter of support to the NC Division of Water Quality including the County’s intent to send a resolution of support, contingent upon the outcome of a public hearing to allow citizen comment on the project.


Commissioner Deal stated that he would support the motion if amended as . . . moved to send a letter of support to the NC Division of Water Quality for the location of the Town of Boone’s water intake and the process they were going through and state within the letter that the Board planned to hold a public hearing allowing citizen comment on the watershed reclassification.


Commissioner Futrelle, seconded by Chairman Miller, moved to table the previous motion until further discussion at a future meeting.


VOTE: Aye-5



County Manager Nelson announced that the Cooperative Extension’s Annual Report to the People was scheduled for Tuesday, March 1, 2011, at 11:45 A.M.


Chairman Miller adjourned the meeting at 6:48 P.M.



Nathan A. Miller, Chairman



Anita J. Fogle, Clerk to the Board