The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a press conference regarding the August 31, 2010, quarter-cent local option sales tax referendum.  The press conference was held at 4:30 P.M. on Wednesday, August 18, 2010, in the Commissioners’ Board Room at the Watauga County Administration Building, located at 814 West King Street, Boone, North Carolina.  Those present were:  Chairman Deal, Vice-Chairman Winkler, Commissioner Cooper, Commissioner Futrelle, Commissioner Kinsey, County Manager Nelson, Deputy County Manager Geouque, and Clerk to the Board Fogle.


            Chairman Deal called the press conference to order at 4:30 P.M.


            Chairman Deal stated that the press conference was called to clarify misinformation, stop rumors, and addressed questions that had been received by Board members regarding the quarter-cent local option sales tax referendum scheduled for August 31, 2010.


Chairman Deal read a resolution adopted by the Board at their August 17, 2010, regular meeting that included the following: “Now, therefore, be it resolved, the Watauga County Board of Commissioners do hereby commit to use the proceeds, upon adoption, of the quarter-cent sales tax recreation referendum to:  fully fund the construction of a recreational center with aquatics center and fully fund the construction of the Eastern Watauga Community Center.  Be it further resolved that any excess revenues generated will be used for operational costs at the two centers and to improve recreational opportunities throughout the County.”


            Chairman Deal stated that $1.9 million in revenue was expected to be generated from the quarter-cent sales tax and reviewed the estimated costs for the construction of a recreation center and community center.  Chairman Deal also shared data collected in the 1999 and 2010 County recreation plans which showed a history of citizen support for a recreation center in Watauga County.


            Chairman Deal adjourned the press conference at 5:03 P.M.



Jim Deal, Chairman



Anita J. Fogle, Clerk to the Board