The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held special meetings on Thursday, March 2, 2006 and Friday, March 3, 2006 in order to conduct a retreat to review goals and objectives for the County. The meetings were held in the Watauga County Board of Commissioners’ Conference Room, Boone, NC.
PRESENT:          Jim Deal, Chairman
William R. Winkler, III, Vice-Chairman
David Blust, Commissioner
Keith Honeycutt, Commissioner
Robert E. Nelson, Jr., County Manager
Deron Geouque, Assistant County Manager
Doris Isaacs, Finance Director
[Clerk’s Note – Commissioner Kinsey was absent due to illness]
            Chairman Deal called the meeting to order on Thursday, March 2, 2006 at 4:00 P.M. welcoming those in attendance.
            County Manager Nelson and Mr. Robert Marsh, Maintenance Director reported on the current CIP and Capital Reserve Fund. The Board of Commissioners reviewed a tentative schedule for budget work sessions on March 21, 2006 (5-6 pm), May 10, 2006 (4-10 pm), and May 11, 2006 (4-7 pm).
            The Board met with the School Board to discuss issues in the upcoming budget year. The following individuals were present from the Watauga County Board of Education: School Board Members Mr. Andy Reese, Mr. Lowell Younce, Ms. Debra Miller, Dr. Lee Warren, Dr. Bobbie Short, Superintendent, and Leta Councill, Finance Director. The School Board discussed issues pertaining to the High School and presented an updated Capital Improvement Plan for future school needs. 
            Mr. Ron Dicasolo, President of the Catawba Valley YMCA, gave a presentation on what his organization could offer to Watauga County should the Board of Commissioners decide to partner with the YMCA on a recreation center. Mr. Dicasolo said the YMCA would be willing to examine any collaborative effort and did not want to duplicate services already provided.
Mr. Chip Williamson, President of the High Country Soccer Association, presented a proposal to build two regulation soccer fields on the Brookshire property owned by the County. The Board told Mr. Williamson they would consider his proposal.
            Ms. Pat Wilkie, Ms. Faye Cooper, and Ms. Mary Hall, representing the Western Youth Network (WYN), discussed a possible partnership with Watauga County and WYN to build a recreation center on the Brookshire property owned by the County.
A recess was declared at 8:00 P.M. The meeting reconvened on Friday, March 3, 2006 at 8:15 A.M.
            Doris Isaacs, Finance Director, reviewed the current year budget along with the projected revenues and expenditures for Fiscal Year 2006-2007. In addition, the proposed Fiscal Year 2007 budget schedule was presented.
            Mr. Kelvin Byrd, Tax Administrator, briefed the Board on the upcoming revaluation process and schedule of values.
            Mr. Joe Furman, Planning and Inspections Director, reviewed the Quality of Life Survey and discussed future planning. Mr. Furman said overall the results of the survey were very positive.
            Mr. Furman, in conjunction with the EDC Board, discussed the Brookshire property, a resolution regarding vocational education and an incubator at the Revco Building.
            Mr. Furman brought the Board up to date on water and sewer matters. The Board directed the County Manager to send a follow-up letter to the Town of Boone to reiterate the County’s need for water and wanting to work collaboratively with the Town.
            County Manager Nelson, Assistant County Manager Geouque and Finance Director Doris Isaacs discussed the following topics, NCACC Legislative matters, fund balance policy, public records policy, private non-profit application process, IT strategic plan review, tax exemption local bill discussion, grants administrator/writer discussion, and fire district funding.
[Clerk’s Note – Commissioner Blust left at 3:30 P.M.]
            The County Manager concluded the retreat by reviewing the issues addressed and sought direction from the Board for Fiscal Year 2007.
            Commissioner Winkler seconded by Commissioner Honeycutt, moved to adjourn the meeting at 5:15 P.M.
VOTE:    Aye-3
               Absent-2 (Winston Kinsey, David Blust)
Jim Deal, Chairman
Deron Geouque, Assistant County Manager