The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a special meeting on Tuesday, October 25, 2005, at 3:00 P.M. in the Conference Room of the Watauga County Cooperative Extension Office with representatives of Appalachian State University and the Towns of Boone and Blowing Rock.
                        PRESENT:       WataugaCounty
                                                Jim Deal, Chairman
                                                David Blust, Commissioner
                                                Keith Honeycutt, Commissioner
                                                Winston Kinsey, Commissioner
                                    Robert E. Nelson, Jr., County Manager
                                                Deron Geouque, Assistant County Manager
                                                Joe Furman, Planning and Inspections Director
                                                School of Government
                                                Jeff Hughes
Appalachian StateUniversity
Lorin Baumhover
Dayton Cole
Town of Boone
Graydon Eggers
Lynne Mason
Rick Miller
Janet Pepin
Milton Bunk Spann
Dempsey Wilcox
Greg Young
Town of Blowing Rock
Barbara Ball
Scott Hildebran
J. B. Lawrence
Terry Lentz
Keith Tester
Rita Wiseman
David Wray
            Chairman Deal called the meeting to order at 3:08 P.M.
The purpose of the meeting was to hear a presentation entitled “Multi-jurisdiction Water and Sewer Arrangements Institutional Options and Considerations” by Jeff Hughes, UNC School of Government, Environmental Finance Center.
Mr. Hughes presented a summary of options that are available and also listed considerations that member governments should be aware and also gave examples of current practices.
After the presentation and discussion, there was group consensus that each entity would meet to list concerns and issues and then to schedule a second joint meeting to continue discussion.
The meeting adjourned at 5:20 P.M.
Jim Deal, Chairman
Robert E. Nelson, Jr., County Manager