The Watauga County Board of Commissioners held a work session to discuss economic development and draft ordinances on junked cars and solid waste on Monday, July 28, 2003, in the conference room of the Human Services Building. Those present were: Chairman Coffey, Vice-Chairman Hodges, Commissioner Blust, Commissioner Honeycutt, Commissioner Trivette, County Manager Nelson, Assistant County Manager Geouque, County Attorney Rebecca Eggers-Gryder and Planning and Inspections Director Joe Furman.
            Chairman Coffey called the meeting to order at 6:04 P.M.
The Manager asked the Board to amend the agenda to include time for Ms. Judi Scharns to discuss her economic development proposal. 
Commissioner Blust, seconded by Commissioner Honeycutt, made a motion to accept the amended agenda with the above change.
                                                            VOTE: Aye-5
Mr. Paul Combs and Judi Scharns presented proposals for economic development for Watauga County. Considerable discussion followed each of the proposals.
At 6:53 P.M., the Board conducted a joint meeting with the Watauga County Economic Development Commission. Commission members present were: Phil Minor, Frank Payne, Mayor Velma Burnley, Sue Wilmoth, Sterling Carroll, Betty Koontz and Rob Holton. The EDC Board discussed possibilities for economic development in Watauga County. No action was taken.
After a break, the Board reconvened at 7:30 P.M. to review the draft ordinances on solid waste and abandoned and junked motor vehicles. It was the consensus of the board to incorporate the proposed changes that were discussed during this work session with updated drafts to be prepared by the County Planning and Inspections Director and a tentative public hearing to be scheduled for September 16, 2003.   
Vice-Chairman Hodges, seconded by Commissioner Honeycutt, made a motion to adjourn the meeting.
The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 P.M.
                                                                                    James Coffey
Deron Geouque
Assistant County Manager